~Twist Out Method~

A twist out was the first natural style I ever attempted. I like them b/c they are a go to style in a pinch, they stretch your hair, and you can evolve it into other styles. I’m more of a wash and go kind of girl now but I still love a good twist out.

Over the years I have realized I can’t set my twist on wet hair. I’ve tried and failed. Wet sets just don’t work for me. My hair is too thick, it takes way too long for the twist to dry even with minimal product.

Theres a big difference in texture when I set my twists after a cowash and when I wait until the next night to allow my hair to dry out a little. Here let me show you:

Looks like a promising set right?
Set my twist on cowashed hair with my normal sealers aloe vera gel and Vatika oil. Looks like a promising set right?

Nope! The minute I walk outside this happens:

Frizz city!
Frizz city!
Close up to show frizz
Close up to show frizz

Does it look horrible? Nah, it doesn’t look that bad. But it is not defined. It looks more like a wash and go gone array. It definitely wouldn’t survive more than a day.

My twist outs come out the best when I cowash my hair the night before wear my hair in a bun or something low-key that day, and set my twist at night before bed. To set my twist on dry hair, I just slightly mist my hair with water from a spray bottle, add some raw Shea butter to each section and twist it up. The next morning I undo the twist. I don’t separate them. I let the ever present South Carolina humidity do that part for me. After a few hours it’ll look like this:

image

image

A lot more defined and I can get about 2-3 days out of the style with proper upkeep (doing a pineapple -a loose high pony tail- before bed and sleeping in a satin scarf). It will also continue to expand as the days go by. By day three it is disrespectfully big, which I love!

**Day 2 twists out**
**Day 2 twists out**
Night of Day 3 twist out, added crown braid to front. Still defined but much bigger. Cutie photo bombed me 😊
Night of Day 3 twist out, added crown braid to front. Still defined but much bigger. Cutie photo bombed me 😊

If you are like me and have a hard time getting good lasting twist out results on a wet set, try this method.  ❤ Ash 

2 thoughts on “~Twist Out Method~

  1. THANK YOU!!!!! That immediate frizz happened to me just this morning. I’m glad u started this blog! I’ve basically FB stalked your styles since I quit relaxers (I’ve even purchased product I’ve seen you mention). I don’t know if you realize how much this helps for newbies like me who have NO IDEA where to begin with this curly/coily venture, but again… thank you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

