~Back to school do!~

Curly Cutie starts first grade Monday! I wanted to give her a style that would last all week and one that met her wishes. She did not want hair in her face and she wanted to wear her hair down. For this style I am using a wide tooth comb for parting, a Denman brush for smoothing the hair,  Bee Mine curly butter as my moisturizing styler and I finished with a little Eco styler argan oil gel to tame any frizz along the hair line of the braids. Here is what I came up with:

Back
Back
Left Side
Left Side

Starting on clean well moisturized and stretched hair (from twisted ponytails), I parted her hair making a top and bottom half. I then started on the left side of her hair making wavy kind of  “L” shaped parts stopping in the center of her head.

part shape/starting braids
part shape/starting braids

Once I reached the end of  each cornrow I did a couple of regular braid patterns to hold it in place and then transitioned to a two strand twist. To do this take the middle stitch of hair, separate it in two and join those strands together with the remaining two strands of your original braid stitch. I twisted all of the hair in the same direction. This gives it a neater more finished look.

ending the braid with twist
ending the braid with twist
transitioning a braid into a two strand twist
transitioning a braid into a two strand twist

After I finished braiding the top of her hair I did single box braids/twist in the back. To do this you braid the hair at the roots and transition your braid into a twist just as I described above.

Notice that I did not use any rubber bands on her hair. I could have, but they are not necessary to hold the her hair in place. To keep the twist from unraveling, twirl the ends of the twist around your finger a few times to secure them.

This is a style that gives you more than one look. You can bundle all of the top twist into a pony tail and leave the bottom down. Secure the top and the bottom into ponytails for a gym day look. Or gather all the the twist in one ponytail and bun the loose twist for a sweet dressed up look. That’s all of the ideas that I can think of right now lol but I am sure I will come up with some others to make this style last the whole first week of school. ❤ Ash

right side
right side
Top
Top
Leave a Reply

