Natural Hair Commandments I Follow

Lets go through some Dos and Donts of natural hair!

I. Do not covet others curls

There are gorgeous heads of hair out there and It is perfectly OK to admire. But let’s be real, you’re never going to have anyone’s curls besides the ones springing out of your own head. Don’t have unrealistic expectations of what your hair can and can not do, it will only lead to frustration and disappointment, trust me on this one. The best thing to do is fall in love and fully embrace your unique gorgeous curl pattern and texture.

II. Do not covet straight hair

The number one thing that will absolutely ruin your natural curls (or any type of hair) is heat. Specifically constantly blow drying and flat ironing your hair. I believe it is OK to straighten once in a blue moon. I personally straighten my hair when I need a woo-sah (a curl break) moment which is about 2-3 times per year. But it should not be an every day or every month thing. Indirect heat, a hooded dryer, dryer bonnets, are a-OK and necessary every once in a while for certain styles. If your goal is to have healthy curls, straight hair should not be the norm. There are plenty of other ways to stretch your hair without the risk of irreversible heat damage.

III. Do embrace water

Say what? Yup despite what your stylist  may have told you, grandmaw, mom, auntie or whoever natural hair is happiest when it is well moisturized! How do you get moisture…water. I will dive more into this later on when we cover my regimen.

IV. Stick to Au Natural ingredients

As a rule of thumb always read the ingredients of any product you think of trying. If you can’t pronounce it, it probably doesn’t need to be in your hair (or body for that matter). I personally stay away from petroleum, grease, mineral oil, heavy silicone, parabens and harsh sulfates. If you are unsure of an ingredient, google search is amazing for defining technical terms.

V. Keep it Simple

Man, I’ve run across some crazy regimens in my research on natural hair. Some ppl will have you going on wild goose chases searching for foreign ingredients. There was even one that suggested only washing your hair with collected rain water. Like really? rain water? *smh & lol* Ain’t Nobody Got Time For That! Let’s not over complicate this thing, ok? If you keep your regimen simple and consistent your hair will thank you.

VI. Commit already!

Go on, if you have not already, and commit to staying consistent with your regimen. Repeat after me: I ________ promise I am fully committed to the cause of gorgeous healthy curls. I understand to have the hair that I want, I have to stay consistent!

Now that we have the basics out-of-the-way, we are ready to move onto establishing a regimen (deets on my regimen as well)! Until next time ❤ Ash

2 thoughts on “Natural Hair Commandments I Follow

Leave a Reply

